Special Transportation Fund for Northern Virginia; established. (SB5008)

Introduced By

Sen. Dick Saslaw (D-Springfield) with support from co-patrons Sen. Chuck Colgan (D-Manassas), Sen. Janet Howell (D-Reston), Sen. Toddy Puller (D-Mount Vernon), Sen. Patsy Ticer (D-Alexandria), and Sen. Mary Margaret Whipple (D-Arlington)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Transportation funding; Northern Virginia. Increases the state sales and use tax by 0.50% and the state grantor's tax by $0.20 per $100 of value in the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park. The bill would also authorize the governing bodies of such counties and cities to impose a local option grantor's tax at a rate of $0.10 per $100 of value. All revenues from the increases in the state taxes and the local option grantor's tax would be distributed to the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority. The Authority would be required to use each dollar of revenue from the increase in the state grantor's tax and any local option grantor's tax for transportation facilities in the county or city from which such revenue was generated. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


04/12/2006Presented and ordered printed 069278816
04/12/2006Referred to Committee on Transportation
04/12/2006Incorporated by Transportation (SB5007-Devolites Davis) (10-Y 4-N)