Transient occupancy tax; increase thereof in Northampton County. (HB1714)

Introduced By

Sen. Lynwood Lewis (D-Accomac)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Transient occupancy tax; Northampton County. Permits Northampton County to impose an additional 3% transient occupancy tax (for a total of 5%) provided that the portion of the tax over 2% be dedicated for tourism purposes. Read the Bill »


02/21/2007: signed by governor


12/15/2006Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/10/07 071924378
12/15/2006Referred to Committee on Finance
01/10/2007Assigned Finance sub: #2 (Purkey)
01/11/2007Impact statement from TAX (HB1714)
01/22/2007Committee substitute printed 073447378-H1
01/23/2007Read first time
01/24/2007Read second time
01/24/2007Committee substitute agreed to 073447378-H1
01/24/2007Engrossed by House - committee substitute HB1714H1
01/25/2007Read third time and passed House (74-Y 24-N)
01/25/2007Communicated to Senate
01/26/2007Constitutional reading dispensed
01/26/2007Referred to Committee on Finance
02/05/2007Impact statement from TAX (HB1714EH1)
02/05/2007Impact statement from TAX (HB1714H1)
02/05/2007Impact statement from TAX (HB1714)
02/07/2007Constitutional reading dispensed (38-Y 0-N)
02/07/2007VOTE: (38-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/08/2007Read third time
02/08/2007Passed Senate (35-Y 5-N)
02/08/2007VOTE: (35-Y 5-N) (see vote tally)
02/13/2007Bill text as passed House and Senate (HB1714ER)
02/13/2007Signed by Speaker
02/14/2007Signed by President
02/16/2007Impact statement from TAX (HB1714ER)
02/21/2007G Approved by Governor-Chapter 86 (effective 7/1/07)
03/13/2007G Acts of Assembly Chapter text (CHAP0086)


This bill mentions Patrick, Mecklenburg, Halifax, Wythe, Wise, Franklin, Pulaski, Dinwiddie, Tazewell, York, Prince Edward, Bedford, James City, Craig, Cumberland, Botetourt, Nelson, Rockbridge, Albemarle, Caroline, Augusta, Spotsylvania, King George, Stafford, Page, Prince William, Loudoun.