Minimum wage; increase per hour. (HB2004)

Introduced By

Del. Vince Callahan (R-McLean) with support from 11 copatrons, whose average partisan position is:

Those copatrons are Del. Kris Amundson (D-Mount Vernon), Del. Bob Brink (D-Arlington), Del. Chuck Caputo (D-Oak Hill), Del. Al Eisenberg (D-Arlington), Del. David Englin (D-Alexandria), Del. Brian Moran (D-Alexandria), Del. Vivian Watts (D-Annandale), Sen. Roz Dance (D-Petersburg), Sen. Adam Ebbin (D-Alexandria), Sen. Jennifer McClellan (D-Richmond), Sen. Toddy Puller (D-Mount Vernon)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Minimum wage. Increases the minimum wage from its current federally mandated level of $5.15 per hour to $6.15 per hour effective July 1, 2007; to $7.15 per hour effective July 1, 2008; and to $8.15 per hour effective July 1, 2009. For subsequent years, the minimum wage will be adjusted annually on July 1 to reflect changes in the Consumer Price Index for the preceding calendar year, as determined by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/08/2007Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/10/07 078117260
01/08/2007Referred to Committee on Commerce and Labor
02/06/2007Left in Commerce and Labor


Waldo Jaquith writes:

This bill was combined with the other minimum wage bills and killed in subcommittee. On an unrecorded vote, Dels. Byron, Kilgore, Abbitt, Nixon, and Hugo all voted against increasing the minimum wage. Here's the video.

David Wright writes:

It's good to know that there are some delegates out there who understand labor demand and are willing to what's right instead of just go along with what's popular. Now if only our federal representatives could do the same...