Urban Affairs, Secretary of; position created. (HB279)

Introduced By

Del. Mamye BaCote (D-Newport News) with support from 8 copatrons, whose average partisan position is:

Those copatrons are Del. Al Eisenberg (D-Arlington), Del. David Englin (D-Alexandria), Del. Dwight Jones (D-Richmond), Del. Ken Melvin (D-Portsmouth), Del. Paula Miller (D-Norfolk), Del. Mark Sickles (D-Alexandria), Del. Vivian Watts (D-Annandale), Sen. Lionell Spruill (D-Chesapeake)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Establishes the Secretary of Urban Affairs. The Secretary shall be responsible to the Governor for the Department of Housing and Community Development and the Virginia Housing Development Authority. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/04/2006Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/11/06 062338222
01/04/2006Referred to Committee on General Laws
01/17/2006Fiscal impact statement from DPB (HB279)
01/18/2006Assigned to General Laws sub-committee: #4 Prof./Occup./Admin. (Cosgrove)
01/19/2006Continued to 2007 in General Laws (21-Y 1-N) (see vote tally)