Minimum wage; increase per hour. (HB2849)

Introduced By

Del. Brian Moran (D-Alexandria) with support from 17 copatrons, whose average partisan position is:

Those copatrons are Del. Kris Amundson (D-Mount Vernon), Del. Ward Armstrong (D-Martinsville), Del. Mamye BaCote (D-Newport News), Del. Danny Bowling (D-Oakwood), Del. Bob Brink (D-Arlington), Del. David Bulova (D-Fairfax), Del. Algie Howell (D-Norfolk), Del. Dwight Jones (D-Richmond), Del. Paula Miller (D-Norfolk), Del. Ken Plum (D-Reston), Del. Jim Scott (D-Merrifield), Del. Mark Sickles (D-Alexandria), Del. David Toscano (D-Charlottesville), Del. Jeion Ward (D-Hampton), Del. Vivian Watts (D-Annandale), Sen. Adam Ebbin (D-Alexandria), Sen. Jennifer McClellan (D-Richmond)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Minimum wage. Increases the minimum wage from its current federally mandated level of $5.15 per hour to $6.15 per hour effective July 1, 2007, and to $7.25 per hour effective July 1, 2008, unless a higher minimum wage is required by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/10/2007Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/10/07 070212424
01/10/2007Referred to Committee on Commerce and Labor
01/24/2007Impact statement from DPB (HB2849)
02/06/2007Left in Commerce and Labor

Duplicate Bills

The following bills are identical to this one: SB1277.


Waldo Jaquith writes:

Here's the video of Del. Brian Moran introducing the bill before the House Commerce and Labor subcommittee on Utilities/Employment at their meeting this morning.