Constitutional amendment; Transp. Fund, Transp. Trust Fund, & Hwy. Maintenance & Operating Fund. (HJ18)

Introduced By

Del. Bob Marshall (R-Manassas) with support from 33 copatrons, whose average partisan position is:

Those copatrons are Del. Watkins Abbitt (I-Appomattox), Del. Clay Athey (R-Front Royal), Del. Kathy Byron (R-Lynchburg), Del. Vince Callahan (R-McLean), Del. Ben Cline (R-Amherst), Del. Mark Cole (R-Fredericksburg), Del. Anne Crockett-Stark (R-Wytheville), Del. Allen Dudley (R-Rocky Mount), Del. Jeff Frederick (R-Woodbridge), Del. Tom Gear (R-Hampton), Del. Morgan Griffith (R-Salem), Del. Phil Hamilton (R-Newport News), Del. Tim Hugo (R-Centreville), Del. Sal Iaquinto (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Terry Kilgore (R-Gate City), Del. Steve Landes (R-Weyers Cave), Del. Scott Lingamfelter (R-Woodbridge), Del. Michele McQuigg (R-Occoquan), Del. Brian Moran (D-Alexandria), Del. Dave Nutter (R-Christiansburg), Del. Chris Peace (R-Mechanicsville), Del. Bob Purkey (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Lacey Putney (I-Bedford), Del. Jack Reid (R-Richmond), Del. Tom Rust (R-Herndon), Del. Chris Saxman (R-Staunton), Del. Ed Scott (R-Culpeper), Del. Beverly Sherwood (R-Winchester), Del. Leo Wardrup (R-Virginia Beach), Del. John Welch (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Tommy Wright (R-Victoria), Sen. Bill Carrico (R-Grayson), Sen. John Cosgrove (R-Chesapeake)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate


Constitutional amendment (first resolution); Transportation Funds. Requires the General Assembly to maintain permanent and separate Transportation Funds to include the Commonwealth Transportation Fund, Transportation Trust Fund, and Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund. All revenues dedicated to Transportation Funds on January 1, 2007, by general law, other than a general appropriation law, shall be deposited to the Transportation Funds, unless the General Assembly by general law, other than a general appropriation law, alters the revenues dedicated to the Funds. The amendment limits the use of Fund moneys to transportation and related purposes. The General Assembly may borrow from the Funds for other purposes only by a vote of two-thirds plus one of the members voting in each house, and the loan or reduction must be repaid with reasonable interest within four years. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


12/13/2005Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/11/06 063186396
12/13/2005Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections
01/11/2006Continued to 2007 in Privileges and Elections
01/12/2007Passed by for the day
01/15/2007Passed by for the day
01/16/2007Passed by for the day
01/17/2007Passed by for the day
01/18/2007Passed by for the day
01/19/2007Taken up
01/19/2007Engrossed by House
01/19/2007Agreed to by House (96-Y 0-N)
01/19/2007VOTE: ADOPTION (96-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
01/19/2007Communicated to Senate
01/22/2007Reading waived
01/22/2007Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections
02/13/2007Reported from Privileges and Elections with substitute (10-Y 3-N) (see vote tally)
02/14/2007Committee substitute printed 075616760-S1
02/15/2007Read second time
02/16/2007Read third time
02/16/2007Reading of substitute waived
02/16/2007Committee substitute agreed to 075616760-S1
02/16/2007Committee substitute reconsidered (39-Y 0-N)
02/16/2007VOTE: (39-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/16/2007Passed by for the day
02/19/2007Read third time
02/19/2007Passed by for the day
02/20/2007Read third time
02/20/2007Reading of substitute waived
02/20/2007Committee substitute agreed to 075616760-S1
02/20/2007Engrossed by Senate - committee substitute HJ18S1
02/20/2007Agreed to by Senate with substitute (32-Y 7-N)
02/20/2007VOTE: (32-Y 7-N) (see vote tally)
02/21/2007Placed on Calendar
02/22/2007Senate substitute rejected by House (11-Y 82-N)
02/22/2007VOTE: REJECTED (11-Y 82-N) (see vote tally)
02/22/2007Senate insisted on substitute (30-Y 0-N)
02/22/2007VOTE: (30-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/22/2007Senate requested conference committee
02/22/2007House acceded to request
02/22/2007Conferees appointed by House
02/22/2007Delegates: Cox, Griffith, Joannou
02/22/2007Conferees appointed by Senate
02/22/2007Senators: Martin, Obenshain, Puckett
02/24/2007Conference report agreed to by House (97-Y 1-N)
02/24/2007VOTE: ADOPTION (97-Y 1-N) (see vote tally)
02/24/2007Conference substitute printed 072231760-H1
02/24/2007Reading of conference report waived
02/24/2007Conference report rejected by Senate (10-Y 29-N)
02/24/2007VOTE: (10-Y 29-N) (see vote tally)
02/24/2007Reconsideration of conference report agreed to by Senate (39-Y 0-N)
02/24/2007VOTE: (39-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/24/2007Passed by temporarily
02/24/2007Conference report rejected by Senate (11-Y 29-N)
02/24/2007VOTE: (11-Y 29-N) (see vote tally)
02/24/2007Motion for second committee of conference rejected (0-Y 40-N)
02/24/2007VOTE: (0-Y 40-N) (see vote tally)
02/24/2007No further action taken
02/24/2007Failed to pass in House

Duplicate Bills

The following bills are identical to this one: HJ3.