Transient occupancy tax; allows Charles City County to impose. (SB854)

Introduced By

Sen. Benny Lambert (D-Richmond)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Charles City County; transient occupancy tax. Adds Charles City County to the list of counties that may levy the transient occupancy tax at a rate of five percent, with the revenues collected from that portion of the tax over two percent designated and spent solely for tourism, marketing of tourism or initiatives that, as determined in consultation with the local tourism industry organizations, attract travelers to the locality and generate tourism revenues in the locality. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/05/2007Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/10/07 075241748
01/05/2007Referred to Committee on Finance
01/12/2007Impact statement from TAX (SB854)
01/17/2007Constitutional reading dispensed (39-Y 0-N)
01/18/2007Read second time and engrossed
01/19/2007Passed by for the day
01/22/2007Read third time and passed Senate (32-Y 6-N)
01/22/2007VOTE: (32-Y 6-N) (see vote tally)
01/22/2007Communicated to House
02/02/2007Placed on Calendar
02/02/2007Read first time
02/02/2007Referred to Committee on Finance
02/05/2007Impact statement from TAX (SB854E)
02/05/2007Impact statement from TAX (SB854)
02/12/2007Tabled in Finance


This bill mentions Patrick, Mecklenburg, Halifax, Wythe, Wise, Franklin, Pulaski, Dinwiddie, Tazewell, York, Prince Edward, Bedford, James City, Charles City, Craig, Cumberland, Botetourt, Nelson, Rockbridge, Albemarle, Caroline, Augusta, Spotsylvania, King George, Stafford, Page, Prince William, Loudoun.