Redistricting Commission; created. (SB243)

Introduced By

Sen. Janet Howell (D-Reston)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Virginia Redistricting Commission created. Establishes a seven-member commission to prepare redistricting plans in 2011 and each tenth year thereafter for the House of Delegates, state Senate, and congressional districts. Six appointments to the commission shall be made, one each, by the President pro tempore of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Delegates, minority leaders of the Senate and House, and chairmen of the two major political parties. Those six appointees shall appoint the seventh member and chairman for the commission. The commission will prepare plans and submit them to the General Assembly. The General Assembly may accept or reject the first two plans submitted by the commission and may amend the third plan submitted by the commission. The bill spells out the standards and process to be followed by the commission in preparing plans, including opportunities for public comment on the plans. Read the Bill »


01/29/2008: Merged into SB38


01/08/2008Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/09/08 087654248
01/08/2008Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections
01/29/2008Incorporated by Privileges and Elections (SB38-Deeds) (11-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)