Offshore Energy Revenue Fund. (SB6011)

Introduced By

Sen. Frank Wagner (R-Virginia Beach) with support from 16 copatrons, whose average partisan position is:

Those copatrons are Sen. Harry Blevins (R-Chesapeake), Sen. Ken Cuccinelli (R-Fairfax), Sen. Emmett Hanger (R-Mount Solon), Sen. Robert Hurt (R-Chatham), Sen. Steve Martin (R-Chesterfield), Sen. Ryan McDougle (R-Mechanicsville), Sen. Steve Newman (R-Forest), Sen. Tommy Norment (R-Williamsburg), Sen. Mark Obenshain (R-Harrisonburg), Sen. Fred Quayle (R-Suffolk), Sen. Frank Ruff (R-Clarksville), Sen. Ralph Smith (R-Roanoke), Sen. Walter Stosch (R-Glen Allen), Sen. Richard Stuart (R-Westmoreland), Sen. William Wampler (R-Bristol), Sen. John Watkins (R-Midlothian)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Offshore Energy Revenue Fund. Creates the Offshore Energy Revenue Fund in the state treasury and directs that any royalties and other moneys paid by the federal government as a result of the development of offshore energy resources be deposited in the Fund. The moneys transferred to the Fund are allocated as follows: (i) 40 percent to the Transportation Trust Fund; (ii) 40 percent to fund the implementation of the Secretary of Natural Resources' plan to clean up the Chesapeake Bay and other impaired waters; (iii) 10 percent to the Renewable Electricity Production Grant Fund or other energy efficiency incentives as may be provided in the general appropriations act; and (iv) 10 percent to the Virginia Coastal Energy Research Consortium or other energy research initiatives at state institutions of higher education as may be provided in the general appropriations act. Amends § 67-1100, § 67-1101, of the Code of Virginia. Read the Bill »


06/23/2008: Awaiting a Vote in the Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources Committee


06/23/2008Presented and ordered printed 089644340
06/23/2008Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources