Courts; establishes new boundaries for judicial circuits and districts. (SB1240)

Introduced By

Sen. John Edwards (D-Roanoke)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Courts of record; courts not of record; judicial circuits and districts; number of judges.  Establishes new boundaries for the various judicial circuits and districts of the Commonwealth and reallocates the number of judges serving such circuits and districts. The bill contains technical amendments. This bill is effective July 1, 2012. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/12/2011Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/12/11 11100114D
01/12/2011Referred to Committee for Courts of Justice
01/18/2011Assigned Courts sub: Civil
02/08/2011Left in Courts of Justice


This bill mentions Danville, Galax, Emporia, Martinsville, Chesapeake, Mecklenburg, Greensville, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, Halifax, Portsmouth, Pittsylvania, Norfolk, Isle of Wight, Lunenburg, Hampton, Pulaski, Dinwiddie, Newport News, Radford, Poquoson, Nottoway, York, Colonial Heights, Williamsburg, Hopewell, James City, Charles City, Amelia Court House, Appomattox, Chesterfield, Lynchburg, Gloucester, New Kent, Henrico, Richmond, Powhatan, Botetourt, Amherst, Goochland, King William, King and Queen, Accomack, Alleghany, Lexington, Rockbridge, Fluvanna, Northumberland, Albemarle, Caroline, Charlottesville, Waynesboro, Staunton, Augusta, Spotsylvania, King George, Fredericksburg, Greene, Stafford, Harrisonburg, Culpeper, Page, Rappahannock, Fauquier, Prince William, Manassas, Manassas Park, Alexandria, Shenandoah, Falls Church, Arlington, Loudoun, Clarke, Winchester.

Duplicate Bills

The following bills are identical to this one: HB1990.