Electronic Work Verification Program, federal; public contractors to register. (SB1288)

Introduced By

Sen. Jeff McWaters (R-Virginia Beach)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Public Procurement Act; verification of legal presence.  Requires all public contractors and their subcontractors to register and participate in a federal Electronic Work Verification Program or similar electronic verification of work authorization program to determine that their employees and individual independent contractors are legally eligible for employment in the United States. Contractors and subcontractors are required to verify the employment status of their employees and independent contractors, and are prohibited from employing or contracting with an individual who is not determined to be legally eligible for employment in the United States as determined through the verification of the individual's status. Contractors who do not register and participate in the registration program are ineligible for prequalification. Read the Bill »


02/07/2011: Merged into SB1049


01/12/2011Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/12/11 11102786D
01/12/2011Referred to Committee on General Laws and Technology
01/20/2011Impact statement from DPB (SB1288)
01/26/2011Rereferred from General Laws and Technology (15-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
01/26/2011Rereferred to Courts of Justice
01/31/2011Assigned Courts sub: Civil
02/07/2011Incorporated by Courts of Justice (SB1049-Barker) (13-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)

Duplicate Bills

The following bills are identical to this one: SB1049.


VACOLAO, tracking this bill in Photosynthesis, notes:

VACOLAO opposes any legislation that imposes unnecessary and burdensome additional regulatory or administrative requirements on Virginia residents, Virginia businesses, Virginia agencies or Virginia nonprofit organizations without any corresponding proven positive benefit for the taxpayers or the community, including requirements to participate in E-Verify, (HB 1727, Carrico; HB 1859, Anderson; HB 2333, Lingamfelter; SB 789, Watkins; SB 1049, Barker; SB 1288, McWaters)