Senate Districts; technical adjustment in boundaries. (SB490)

Introduced By

Sen. Frank Ruff (R-Clarksville)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Senate districts; technical adjustment.  Changes district assignments of certain census blocks between Senate Districts 15, 16, 18, and 20 in order to reduce split current precincts and facilitate local administration of legislative elections. Read the Bill »


02/07/2012: Merged into SB635


01/11/2012Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/11/12
01/11/2012Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/11/12 12101795D
01/11/2012Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections
01/27/2012Impact statement from DPB (SB490)
02/07/2012Incorporated by Privileges and Elections (SB635-Vogel) (8-Y 7-N) (see vote tally)


This bill mentions Branchville, Lambsburg, Danville, Bachelors Hall, Ringgold, Brosville, Mount Cross, Stony Mill, Galax, Fancy Gap, Martinsville, South Boston, Brodnax, Chesapeake, Mecklenburg, Drewryville, Courtland, Keeling, Greensville, Suffolk, Swansonville, Vernon Hill, Scottsburg, Lawrenceville, Nansemond, Suffolk, Hillsville, Southampton, Twin Springs, Edgerton, Brunswick, Halifax, Chatham, Westhaven, Portsmouth, Portsmouth, Snow Creek, Pittsylvania, Silverwood, Chesapeake, Alberta, Climax, Riceville, Isle of Wight, Danieltown, Lunenburg, Republican Grove, Sandy Level, Penhook, Rocky Mount, Franklin, Dendron, Brookneal, Dinwiddie, Dinwiddie, Reams, Nottoway, Spring Grove, Campbell, Claremont, Matoaca, Hopewell, Dutch Gap, Chesterfield, Bellwood, Richmond.