Transient occupancy tax; adds Campbell County to list authorized to impose. (SB562)

Introduced By

Sen. Frank Ruff (R-Clarksville)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Transient occupancy tax; Campbell County.  Adds Campbell County to the list of counties authorized to impose a transient occupancy tax not to exceed five percent. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Passed


01/17/2012Presented and ordered printed
01/17/2012Presented and ordered printed 12103643D
01/17/2012Referred to Committee on Finance
01/20/2012Impact statement from TAX (SB562)
01/24/2012Reported from Finance (14-Y 1-N) (see vote tally)
01/25/2012Constitutional reading dispensed (40-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
01/26/2012Read second time and engrossed
01/27/2012Read third time and passed Senate (31-Y 8-N) (see vote tally)
01/30/2012Impact statement from TAX (SB562)
02/13/2012Placed on Calendar
02/13/2012Read first time
02/13/2012Referred to Committee on Finance
02/13/2012Assigned Finance sub: #1
02/15/2012Subcommittee recommends reporting (7-Y 3-N)
02/20/2012Reported from Finance (13-Y 8-N) (see vote tally)
02/21/2012Read second time
02/22/2012Read third time
02/22/2012Passed House (70-Y 27-N)
02/22/2012VOTE: PASSAGE (70-Y 27-N) (see vote tally)
02/27/2012Bill text as passed Senate and House (SB562ER)
02/27/2012Impact statement from TAX (SB562ER)
02/27/2012Signed by Speaker
02/28/2012Signed by President
03/20/2012G Approved by Governor-Chapter 290 (effective 7/1/12)
03/20/2012G Acts of Assembly Chapter text (CHAP0290)


This bill mentions Patrick, Mecklenburg, Brunswick, Halifax, Smyth, Wythe, Wise, Franklin, Pulaski, Dinwiddie, Tazewell, Campbell, Prince Edward, Bedford, James City, Giles, Craig, Cumberland, Botetourt, Amherst, Accomack, Alleghany, Nelson, Rockbridge, Albemarle, Caroline, Augusta, Spotsylvania, King George, Greene, Stafford, Madison, Page, Prince William, Loudoun.