Transportation Board; changes composition, Governor shall appoint or remove members, etc. (HB864)

Introduced By

Del. Tom Rust (R-Herndon) with support from 52 copatrons, whose average partisan position is:

Those copatrons are Del. Dave Albo (R-Springfield), Del. Rich Anderson (R-Woodbridge), Del. Mamye BaCote (D-Newport News), Del. Bob Brink (D-Arlington), Del. David Bulova (D-Fairfax), Del. Barbara Comstock (R-McLean), Del. John A. Cox (R-Ashland), Del. David Englin (D-Alexandria), Del. Peter Farrell (R-Henrico), Del. Eileen Filler-Corn (D-Fairfax Station), Del. Tag Greason (R-Potomac Falls), Del. Gordon Helsel (R-Poquoson), Del. Charniele Herring (D-Alexandria), Del. Patrick Hope (D-Arlington), Del. Algie Howell (D-Norfolk), Del. Tim Hugo (R-Centreville), Del. Sal Iaquinto (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Riley Ingram (R-Hopewell), Del. Matthew James (D-Portsmouth), Del. Johnny Joannou (D-Portsmouth), Del. Mark Keam (D-Vienna), Del. Barry Knight (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Kaye Kory (D-Falls Church), Del. Jim LeMunyon (R-Oak Hill), Del. Scott Lingamfelter (R-Woodbridge), Del. Alfonso Lopez (D-Arlington), Del. Manoli Loupassi (R-Richmond), Del. Bob Marshall (R-Manassas), Del. Jimmie Massie (R-Richmond), Del. Joe May (R-Leesburg), Del. Delores McQuinn (D-Richmond), Del. Jackson Miller (R-Manassas), Del. John O'Bannon (R-Richmond), Del. Chris Peace (R-Mechanicsville), Del. Ken Plum (D-Reston), Del. David Ramadan (R-South Riding), Del. Roxann Robinson (R-Chesterfield), Del. Jim Scott (D-Merrifield), Del. Mark Sickles (D-Alexandria), Del. Chris Stolle (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Bob Tata (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Luke Torian (D-Woodbridge), Del. Ron Villanueva (R-Virginia Beach), Del. Jeion Ward (D-Hampton), Del. Lee Ware (R-Powhatan), Del. Vivian Watts (D-Annandale), Del. David Yancey (R-Newport News), Sen. Kenneth Alexander (D-Norfolk), Sen. John Cosgrove (R-Chesapeake), Sen. Roz Dance (D-Petersburg), Sen. Joe Morrissey (D-Richmond), Sen. Scott Surovell (D-Mount Vernon)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB); composition.  Changes the composition of the CTB so that one member will be appointed from each of Virginia's congressional districts and three more will be at-large appointees. The three ex officio members remain unchanged.  The bill also replaces the term metropolitan statistical areas with metropolitan planning areas with populations greater than 200,000. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/11/2012Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/11/12 12100956D
01/11/2012Referred to Committee on Transportation
01/19/2012Impact statement from DPB (HB864)
01/20/2012Assigned Transportation sub: #4
01/26/2012Subcommittee recommends reporting with amendment(s) (3-Y 2-N)
02/07/2012Reported from Transportation with substitute (11-Y 8-N) (see vote tally)
02/07/2012Committee substitute printed 12104725D-H1
02/09/2012Read first time
02/10/2012Read second time
02/10/2012Committee substitute agreed to 12104725D-H1
02/10/2012Pending question ordered
02/10/2012Engrossed by House - committee substitute (51-Y 45-N) HB864H1
02/10/2012VOTE: ENGROSSMENT (51-Y 45-N) (see vote tally)
02/10/2012Impact statement from DPB (HB864H1)
02/13/2012Read third time and passed House (51-Y 47-N)
02/13/2012VOTE: PASSAGE (51-Y 47-N) (see vote tally)
02/14/2012Constitutional reading dispensed
02/14/2012Referred to Committee on Transportation
02/15/2012Continued to 2013 in Transportation (15-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
11/30/2012Left in Transportation