Commonwealth Transportation Board; increases membership. (HB146)

Introduced By

Del. Tim Hugo (R-Centreville) with support from co-patron Del. David Ramadan (R-South Riding)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Commonwealth Transportation Board; composition. Increases the size of the Commonwealth Transportation Board by six members (from 18 to 24).Three of the new members are to be members of the House of Delegates: two from the majority party and one from the minority party. The three other new members are to be members of the Virginia Senate: two from the majority party and one from the minority party. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


12/20/2013Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/08/14 14101481D
12/20/2013Referred to Committee on Transportation
01/10/2014Assigned Transportation sub: Subcommittee #4
01/29/2014Impact statement from DPB (HB146)
02/12/2014Left in Transportation


maryanng writes:

I support this. The problem of the CTB came to light due to the shenanigans with Secretary of Transportation and Bi County parkway

Kate Dalby writes:

There is an argument that the CTB needs to add members of the Virginia House of Delegates and the Virginia Senate to create a bridge between the CTB and the legislative branches. This seems sensible. There are other bills that suggest that representatives from different locals be part of the CTB. This has merit too, especially ones from rural areas.

Willard Scott writes:

the current system is obviously broken as demonstrated by conflicts of interest and the overriding influence of developers and influence peddlers. More citizen input is required along with regional considerations.

Jodi Spelbring writes:

I support this bill. We need more transparency on the CTB and the motivations of those board members. Increasing the size of the Board should help keep bad projects like the Bi County Parkway from ever beginning to move forward.

Coco writes:

I fully support this bill. We should not have such a powerful board with no elected officials as members.