Speed limits; maximum limit on nonsurface-treated highways in certain counties. (HB854)

Introduced By

Del. Scott Garrett (R-Lynchburg)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Maximum speed limit on nonsurface-treated highways. Applies statewide the 35 mph maximum speed limit currently applied only in Albemarle, Clarke, Fauquier, Frederick, Loudoun, Montgomery, Nelson, Page, Rappahannock, Warren, and Wythe Counties and in any other county whose governing body adopts an ordinance to do so. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Passed


01/08/2014Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/08/14 14103275D
01/08/2014Referred to Committee on Transportation
01/10/2014Assigned Transportation sub: Subcommittee #1
01/16/2014Impact statement from DPB (HB854)
01/23/2014Impact statement from DPB (HB854)
01/29/2014Subcommittee recommends reporting (6-Y 1-N)
01/30/2014Reported from Transportation (22-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
01/31/2014Read first time
02/03/2014Read second time and engrossed
02/04/2014Read third time and passed House BLOCK VOTE (99-Y 0-N)
02/04/2014VOTE: BLOCK VOTE PASSAGE (99-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/05/2014Constitutional reading dispensed
02/05/2014Referred to Committee on Transportation
02/12/2014Reported from Transportation (13-Y 1-N)
02/14/2014Constitutional reading dispensed (37-Y 0-N)
02/17/2014Read third time
02/17/2014Passed Senate (26-Y 14-N)
02/19/2014Bill text as passed House and Senate (HB854ER)
02/19/2014Signed by Speaker
02/21/2014Signed by President
02/28/2014Impact statement from DPB (HB854ER)
03/03/2014G Approved by Governor-Chapter 80 (effective 7/1/14)
03/03/2014G Acts of Assembly Chapter text (CHAP0080)


This bill was discussed on the floor of the General Assembly. Below is all of the video that we have of that discussion, 3 clips in all, totaling 3 minutes.

Duplicate Bills

The following bills are identical to this one: SB470.