Constitutional amendment; Virginia Redistricting Commission, established, apportionment. (HJ749)

Introduced By

Sen. John Bell (D-Chantilly) with support from co-patrons Del. Ken Plum (D-Reston), Del. Vivian Watts (D-Annandale), and Sen. Jennifer Boysko (D-Herndon)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate


Constitutional amendment (first resolution); Virginia Redistricting Commission. Establishes the seven-member Virginia Redistricting Commission to redraw congressional and General Assembly district boundaries after each decennial census of the United States. The Commission is directed to certify district plans for the General Assembly within 30 days of receipt of the new census data or by June 1 of the year following the census, whichever is earlier, and for the House of Representatives within 60 days of receipt of the census data or by July 1 of the year following the census, whichever is earlier. The amendment requires that districts be drawn using the Shortest Split methodology, which divides the geographic area of the Commonwealth into two halves of approximately equal population based on the official decennial census redistricting numbers, choosing the shortest possible dividing line to split the state. The division of halves shall continue until the required number of districts is achieved. The Commission is required to make adjustments to the resulting maps as may be necessary to achieve compliance with the requirements of the federal Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, and is authorized to make adjustments to the resulting maps so that district boundaries coincide with existing political boundaries and take into account geographic features. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/16/2017Presented and ordered printed 17103921D
01/16/2017Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections
01/17/2017Assigned P & E sub: Constitutional
01/30/2017Subcommittee recommends laying on the table (4-Y 3-N)
02/08/2017Left in Privileges and Elections


Bill Burton writes:

Please pass this bill for the good of democracy !