Driver's license designation; traumatic brain injury. (SB1487)

Introduced By

Sen. Creigh Deeds (D-Bath) with support from co-patron Sen. Monty Mason (D-Williamsburg)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Driver's license designation; traumatic brain injury. Requires the Department of Motor Vehicles, upon the request of the applicant and presentation of a signed statement by a licensed neurologist confirming the applicant's condition, to designate a traumatic brain injury on the applicant's driver's license. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/08/2019Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/09/19 19101976D
01/08/2019Referred to Committee on Transportation
01/15/2019Impact statement from DPB (SB1487)
01/16/2019Reported from Transportation (7-Y 4-N) (see vote tally)
01/18/2019Constitutional reading dispensed (38-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
01/21/2019Read second time
01/21/2019Reading of amendment waived
01/21/2019Amendment by Senator Deeds agreed to
01/21/2019Engrossed by Senate as amended SB1487E
01/21/2019Printed as engrossed 19101976D-E
01/22/2019Read third time and passed Senate (35-Y 5-N) (see vote tally)
01/24/2019Placed on Calendar
01/24/2019Read first time
01/24/2019Referred to Committee on Transportation
01/25/2019Assigned Transportation sub: Subcommittee #3
02/01/2019Impact statement from DPB (SB1487E)
02/08/2019Assigned Transportation sub: Subcommittee #1
02/12/2019Subcommittee recommends reporting with amendment (10-Y 0-N)
02/14/2019Reported from Transportation with amendment (21-Y 1-N) (see vote tally)
02/15/2019Read second time
02/18/2019Read third time
02/18/2019Committee amendment agreed to
02/18/2019Engrossed by House as amended
02/18/2019Passed House with amendment (98-Y 0-N)
02/18/2019VOTE: PASSAGE (98-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/19/2019House amendment rejected by Senate (0-Y 40-N) (see vote tally)
02/20/2019House insisted on amendment
02/20/2019House requested conference committee
02/21/2019Senate acceded to request (40-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/21/2019Conferees appointed by Senate
02/21/2019Senators: Cosgrove, DeSteph, Deeds
02/21/2019Conferees appointed by House
02/21/2019Delegates: Garrett, Pillion, Murphy
02/24/2019No further action taken
02/24/2019Failed to pass in Senate