In-state tuition; eligibility, certain individuals who have applied for permanent residency. (SB1640)

Introduced By

Sen. Jennifer Boysko (D-Herndon) with support from 9 copatrons, whose average partisan position is:

Those copatrons are Sen. Adam Ebbin (D-Alexandria), Sen. Barbara Favola (D-Arlington), Sen. Lynwood Lewis (D-Accomac), Sen. Mamie Locke (D-Hampton), Sen. Monty Mason (D-Williamsburg), Sen. Jeremy McPike (D-Dale City), Sen. Dick Saslaw (D-Springfield), Sen. Lionell Spruill (D-Chesapeake), Sen. Scott Surovell (D-Mount Vernon)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Eligibility for in-state tuition; certain individuals who have applied for permanent residency. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/09/2019Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/09/19 19104527D
01/09/2019Referred to Committee on Education and Health
01/17/2019Committee substitute printed 19105236D-S1
01/17/2019Incorporates SB1055 (Marsden)
01/17/2019Incorporates SB1148 (Marsden)
01/17/2019Reported from Education and Health with substitute (8-Y 7-N) (see vote tally)
01/17/2019Rereferred to Finance
01/18/2019Impact statement from DPB (SB1640)
01/23/2019Rereferred from Fin. (15-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
01/23/2019Rereferred to Education and Health
01/31/2019Passed by indefinitely in Education and Health (8-Y 7-N) (see vote tally)