Counseling minors; certain health regulatory boards to promulgate regulations. (SB1778)

Introduced By

Sen. Steve Newman (R-Forest)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


Health regulatory boards; conversion therapy. Directs the Board of Counseling, the Board of Medicine, the Board of Nursing, the Board of Psychology, and the Board of Social Work to each promulgate regulations prohibiting the use of electroshock therapy, aversion therapy, or other physical treatments in the practice of conversion therapy with any person under 18 years of age. Read the Bill »


Bill Has Failed


01/18/2019Presented and ordered printed 19104585D
01/18/2019Referred to Committee on Education and Health
01/25/2019Assigned Education sub: Health Professions
01/29/2019Impact statement from DPB (SB1778)
01/31/2019Reported from Education and Health with substitute (7-Y 6-N 2-A) (see vote tally)
01/31/2019Committee substitute printed 19106131D-S1
02/01/2019Impact statement from DPB (SB1778S1)
02/01/2019Constitutional reading dispensed (40-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/04/2019Read second time
02/04/2019Reading of substitute waived
02/04/2019Committee substitute agreed to 19106131D-S1
02/04/2019Engrossed by Senate - committee substitute SB1778S1
02/04/2019Constitutional reading dispensed (40-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/04/2019Passed Senate (20-Y 19-N) (see vote tally)
02/05/2019Reconsideration of passage agreed to by Senate (40-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/05/2019Motion to recommit to committee agreed to
02/05/2019Recommitted to Education and Health
02/06/2019Left in Education and Health