License restrictions for minors; use of handheld personal communications devices. (HB675)

Introduced By

Del. Roxann Robinson (R-Chesterfield)


Passed Committee
Passed House
Passed Senate
Signed by Governor
Became Law


License restrictions for minors; use of handheld personal communications devices. Clarifies that the prohibition on the use of a wireless communications device by the holder of a provisional driver's license applies whether or not the device is being used for communication purposes. The bill exempts the use of applications for solely navigation purposes and global positioning systems provided that the driver does not enter information into or manually manipulate the device or system while operating the vehicle. Read the Bill »


03/03/2020: Passed the Senate


01/06/2020Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/08/20 20101547D
01/06/2020Referred to Committee on Transportation
01/14/2020Impact statement from DPB (HB675)
01/17/2020Assigned Transportation sub: Transportation Innovations and General Topics
02/04/2020Subcommittee recommends reporting (8-Y 0-N)
02/06/2020Reported from Transportation (22-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/09/2020Read first time
02/10/2020Read second time and engrossed
02/11/2020Read third time and passed House BLOCK VOTE (99-Y 0-N)
02/11/2020VOTE: Block Vote Passage (99-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
02/12/2020Constitutional reading dispensed
02/12/2020Referred to Committee on Transportation
02/27/2020Reported from Transportation (13-Y 2-N) (see vote tally)
03/02/2020Constitutional reading dispensed (39-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
03/03/2020Read third time
03/03/2020Passed by temporarily
03/03/2020Reading of amendment waived
03/03/2020Amendment by Senator McClellan agreed to
03/03/2020Engrossed by Senate as amended
03/03/2020Passed Senate with amendment (39-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
03/04/2020Placed on Calendar
03/04/2020Senate amendment rejected by House (0-Y 97-N)
03/04/2020VOTE: REJECTED (0-Y 97-N) (see vote tally)
03/05/2020Senate insisted on amendment (37-Y 0-N) (see vote tally)
03/05/2020Senate requested conference committee
03/05/2020House acceded to request
03/05/2020Conferees appointed by House
03/05/2020Delegates: Robinson, Bourne, Willett
03/05/2020Conferees appointed by Senate
03/05/2020Senators: Surovell, McClellan, Cosgrove
03/12/2020No further action taken
03/12/2020Failed to pass in House