HJ393: Commending the Washington Mystics.

Offered February 28, 2020
Commending the Washington Mystics.

Patrons-- Filler-Corn, Adams, D.M., Ayala, Bagby, Bulova, Carr, Cole, M.L., Davis, Delaney, Heretick, Hope, Jones, Keam, Kilgore, Levine, Lopez, Murphy, Rasoul, Reid, Samirah, Sickles, Simonds, Sullivan, Ware and Willett; Senators: Bell, Boysko, Deeds, Ebbin, Howell and Spruill

WHEREAS, the Washington Mystics won the Women’s National Basketball Association Championship on October 10, 2019; and

WHEREAS, playing before a packed stadium of faithful fans at Entertainment and Sports Arena in Washington, D.C., the Washington Mystics defeated the Connecticut Sun 89–78 in a winner-take-all Game 5; and

WHEREAS, after being swept in the 2018 WNBA Finals by the Seattle Storm, the Washington Mystics persevered all season to earn the franchise’s first championship title; and

WHEREAS, the Washington Mystics’ championship win was a total team effort, with standout performances from Finals Most Valuable Player Emma Meesseman and team leaders Natasha Cloud, Elena Delle Donne, and Kristi Toliver; and

WHEREAS, with several players playing through injuries, the Washington Mystics demonstrated inspiring grit and determination to achieve this historic accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, the victory gave Mike Thibault, the general manager-head coach of the Washington Mystics and the winningest coach in WNBA history, his first title, elevating an already impressive career; and

WHEREAS, established in 1997, the Washington Mystics redeemed over two decades of losing seasons and disappointing playoff finishes with this championship, placing themselves in the pantheon of great teams from Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, champions both on the court and in their community, the Washington Mystics are an inspiration to young players, sports fans, and citizens alike; and

WHEREAS, the 2019 season and its triumphant finish will give Washington Mystics fans and citizens throughout the national capital region and the Commonwealth memories they will cherish for years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Washington Mystics for winning the 2019 Women’s National Basketball Association Championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Ted Leonsis, majority owner of the Washington Mystics, as an expression of the General Assembly’s profound respect and heartfelt admiration for the team’s achievement.